Hatoko’s Rant

ino7r

“I don’t understand. I don’t understand! I don’t understand a single word you say, Ju-kun! I don’t understand what’s good about the things you call good! I don’t understand! I can’t understand! What’s so cool about “Bloody”? I don’t like blood. Bleeding just hurts! What’s so cool about “madness”? I don’t understand what’s good about being crazy! What do you mean by “sinful”? What’s so good about having sin? Is it cool being a criminal? And what’s with “chaos,” anyway? Chaos? What about it? What about “darkness”? You want it to be dark? Between justice and evil, why is evil better? Why do you prefer evil? Isn’t it evil because it’s wrong? What’s so cool about your right arm aching? “I love the feeling of being unable to control my power”? What’s that? That just makes you a fool! It’s much cooler when you have control! THAT’S worthy of respect! What’s so awesome about hiding your power all the time? That’s just slacking off! It’s much cooler to face things head-on, at full strength, without hiding anything! Why do you give everything nicknames and aliases? Having so many different names only makes them hard to keep up with! Don’t use English or Katakana for everything! I can’t remember those! Don’t write “elegy” and read it “requiem”! Don’t write “forbidden” and read it “taboo”! Don’t write “holy war” and read it “jihad”! Greek myth, the Bible, Norse myth, Japanese myth…Don’t start talking about them just because you did a little research! If you don’t properly explain it, I can’t understand what you mean! If you’re going to teach me, teach me right! Listening to explanations about mythological weapons is not fun! Gungnir, Longinus, Excalibur, Durandal, and Ama-no-Murakamo-no-Tsurugi all mean nothing to me! I don’t understand what’s cool about them! All your other terminology is confusing, too! Original Sin, Ten Commandments, Book of Genesis, Book of Revelations, Armageddon…What do you mean by “their names are cool”? It’s impossible for me to “feel it by their atmosphere”! Relativity, Schrodinger’s cat, universal gravitation…Don’t act like you understand them because you read a little on the net! I can’t understand them at all if you give half-baked explanations! Don’t quote Nietzsche or Goethe! When you start quoting people I don’t know, I can’t understand what you’re trying to say at all! Talk to me in your own words! I’m begging you, speak so I can understand you! What is “chuuni”? What does “chuuni” mean? I don’t understand, I don’t understand, I don’t understand, I don’t understand! I don’t understand! I don’t understand a single word you’ve ever said at all, Ju-kun!”

[storms out]

RABUJOI World Heritage List

Author: sesameacrylic

Zane Kalish is a staff writer for RABUJOI.

11 thoughts on “Hatoko’s Rant”

  1. Wow seeing this in writing just makes it all the more amazing. So much respect for Saori Hayami in this scene, it blew me away. I really want to know if this was all in one take because if so, my respect for her is through the roof. As much as I love Tomoyo, this ep changed my view of Hatoko a lot.

    Also, good work on transcribing that scene, must have taken some time to get it all down correctly. My respect to you for that as well.

    Like

  2. So I was talking with my friends about anime and one of them blurted out, “After that episode, she gets Seiyuu of the Year.” Which got me curious. They said the character was Hatoko, so after googling I found out that the VA is Hayami Saori.

    I only remembered Hayami Saori from Mahouka Koukou no Rettousei and Red Data Girl. So with all their hype, I watched the anime just to get to that scene. I just watched the scene twice.

    It catapulted Hayami Saori straight to my top three favorite VA’s.

    Like

    1. Mahouka and RDG are recent roles, but I also know her as Miho in Bakuman, Saki in Eden of the East, Haqua in The World God Only Knows, Ayase in Oreimo, Yukino in Oregairu, and Ononoki Yotsugi in the various Monogatari series, in which she’ll star in Tsukimonogatari next year. She’s definitely in my top 10 at this point, if not higher.

      Like

  3. For those who want to see the rant in moon rune, look no further:

    分かんない…分っかんないよ。寿くんの言ってる事は一つも分かんないよ寿くんがいいって言ってるもの何がいいのか分かんないよ
    分かんない私には分かんないのブラッティって何がカッコいいの血なんてイヤだよ痛いだけだよ黒のどこがカッコいいの
    クレイジーのどこがいいのか分かんない罪深いってなんなの罪があるののなのがいいの犯罪者がカッコいいのそもそも混沌てなに
    カオスだからなんなの闇ってなに砕ければいいの正義と悪だとなんで悪がいいの何で悪いほうがいいの悪いから悪じゃないの
    右腕がうずくと何でカッコいいの自分の力が制御できない感じがたまらないって何それただの間抜けな人じゃん
    ちゃんと制御できるほうがカッコいいよ立派だよ普段は力を隠していると何が凄いのそんなのタダの手抜きだよ
    隠したりせず全力で取り組む人の方がカッコいいよどうして二つ名とか異名とかいろいろをつけるのいっぱい呼び名があったて分かりにくいだけじゃん
    英語でも何でもカタカナつけないでよ覚えられないんだよ鎮魂歌と書いてレクイエムって呼ばないでよ禁忌って書いてタブーって読まないでよ
    聖戦って書いてジハード読まないでよギリシャ神話だとか聖書とか北欧神話とか日本神話とかちょっと調べたくらいでそういう話しないでよ
    内容もちゃんと教えてくれなきゃ意味がわかんないよ教えるならちゃんと教えてよ神話に出てくる武器の説明されても楽しくないよ
    グングニルもロンギヌスもエクスカリバーもデュランダルも天叢雲剣も意味不明だよ何がカッコいいのか全然分かんない
    他の用語も謎なんだよ原罪とか十戒とか創世記とか黙示録とかアルマゲドンとか名前がいいだろってどういうこと雰囲気で感じろとか言われても無理だよ
    相対性理論とかシュレディンガーの猫とかバイオリン族とかちょっとネットで調べただけで知ったかぶらないでよ
    中途半端に説明されてもちっとも分からないんだよニーチェとかゲーテの言葉引用しないでよ
    知らない人の言葉使われても何が言いたいのか全然わかんないんだよ自分の言葉で語ってよお願いだから私に分かる事話してよ
    厨二ってなんなの厨二ってどういうことなの分かんない分かんない分かんない分かんない分かんなーい
    寿くんの言う事は昔から何一つこれっぽちも分かんないんだよ

    Like

Comments are closed.