Weekly Music: Parasyte: The Maxim

It took twenty-six years for the Kodansha manga Parasyte to get an anime, and its theme has a defiant “FINALLY” sound about it. I’m not talking about its opening theme (by Fear, and Loathing in Las Vegas) but its orchestral theme, composed by Sato Naoki. He also composed the music to Blood-C, and has a good ear for epic horror. The video above is an abridged version much like the one used for next episode previews, which give me goosebumps every time I see them.

The four-note leitmotif is generally associated with scenes of the parasytes doing parasyte shit, but also when things start getting intense for Shinichi, such as when he has to fight his former mother and Shimada, and when this music starts to rise, my adrenaline rises with it.

I want to say the chorus is singing something in Latin, but I haven’t been able to find anything about what they’re saying, in truth. Nevertheless, its music that lends the show a lot of its gravitas, and along with the D&B and dubstep pieces, make Parasyte’s one of the better soundtracks of the Fall.

Author: magicalchurlsukui

Preston Yamazuka is a staff writer for RABUJOI.