Mori no Yousei: Kinoko no Musume – 01 (First Impressions)

screen-shot-2017-01-07-at-8-49-50-pm

for a short period of time, this character was on fire for some reason…

The Gist: A nationalist tourism piece for Japan that asserts that Anime (or Anime-chans) are real there. It’s set in a magical realm past the mushroom circles and gates found all over Japan.

It looks vaguely like an MMO running on a Sega Dreamcast and features looping character animations and empty conversations with random Anime-chans that can be found there, narrated and guided by a male fairy. There is forgettable JPop in the background.

The Verdict: thankfully, Mori no Yousei: Kinoko no Musume is only ten minutes long. That’s ten minutes longer than it could be and I have no understanding who this program is for, as it the low-poly models, hyper saturation, wash out, and light bloom make it look worse than most modern tablet games?

I don’t get this at all…

16rating_3

6 thoughts on “Mori no Yousei: Kinoko no Musume – 01 (First Impressions)”

  1. Ahh Franklin. Always willing to taste everything, no matter the risk. Truly the Anthony Bourdain of our little blog. :)

    1. If it’s a first episode of a new show aired at the opening of the season, I just click and watch. I don’t read the summary. So I rarely know what it is until I click it!

  2. This thing is really perplexing. I suppose it’s so shit it doesn’t take much effort to produce, but why even bother airing it or streaming it on Crunchyroll then? I don’t get it.

      1. “Another one”? I commend you for finishing this episode. It took me all of ten seconds to start slowly backing away from my laptop and nope the hell out of there.

Comments are closed.