Akiba’s Trip The Animation – 01 (First Impressions)

akiba11a

The Jist: Otaku Denkigai Tomatsu is enjoying the day in Ahikabara with his little sister Niwaka when they find themselves in the middle of a battle between mysterious, evil “Bugged Ones” (AKA “synthesizers”), ordinary people taken over by shadows and given superhuman strength. They are beaten back by the bat-weilding redhead Mayoka Matome, who Tomatsu saves and who saves his by cloning her powers on to him with a kiss.

With his new strength he’s able to disrobe all the affected humans, dissipating the Bugged Ones. He then looks forward to continuing the battle beside “Mayo.” He also meets Ahokainen Arisa, a cosplaying otaku kindred spirit who has superhuman strength but isn’t a Bugged One.

You Should Watch This if you are up for a simple, straightforward, shall we say…dumb action/adventure romp set in Akiba with a healthy portion of ecchi, what with the rather silly undressing aspect of defeating the (very vague) evil enemy. The violence is actually pretty precise, with each punch, kick, leap and stab carrying the right impact. It’s a colorful show with inoffensive music and decent voice work.

You Shouldn’t Watch This if you’re looking for anything deep or innovative, or if watching a guy (and a girl, for that matter) undress lots of women (though the Gonzo logo on one girl’s panties was an interesting easter egg). And while clean, the animation is also very simple and embellished, and while he seems brave and selfless and there’s nothing particularly hateworthy about him, Tomatsu is an extremely derivative, meh otaku whose running commentary wears thin.

The Verdict: I’m on the fence, personally. That may change once I’ve watched the remaining Winter shows on my list. I always give Gonzo joints a try, as there are so few of them and I root for their success. I hew more towards “clean” than “lazy” on the animation side. On the other hand, this has the look of a paint-by-numbers show with (so far) yawn-worthy ecchi thrills. The combat action isn’t bad, and I found Arisa surprisingly funny, so I’ll go another week. But I can’t recommend it yet.

16rating_7

Author: magicalchurlsukui

Hi, I'm Preston Yamazuka, I'm one of the writers for the anime blog RABUJOI. I prefer anime involving fantasy, magic, mystery, the supernatural, and/or horror. I also love seagulls, but they don't seem to share the sentiment.

4 thoughts on “Akiba’s Trip The Animation – 01 (First Impressions)”

  1. The three female leads (Mayo, Arisa, and Niwaka) are voiced by the same seiyuu from Gonzo’s Sore ga Seiyuu! – Takahashi Rie (Futaba), Nagaku Yuki (Ichigo) and Kouno Marika (Rin). Same director, too.

  2. I have no idea what is coming out this season and, since KissAnime got it’s butt kicked over the holiday (and is only just getting back together) I’m not sure I will have access like I have in previous seasons :(

  3. I really shouldn’t have enjoyed this and yet I did. I still wouldn’t recommend it until I’ve watched another couple of episodes because unless they flesh out the premise I don’t know whether they’ll be able to make the rest of the season as enjoyable as episode 1 now that the surprise factor is gone.
    Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Comments are closed.