2016 In Review – Our Favorites, Biggest Disappointments, and Guilty Pleasures

gibo195

Braverade

Favorite Show: Mobile Suit Gundam: Iron-Blooded Orphans Season 1

gibo165

Best Episode: Mobile Suit Gundam: Iron-Blooded Orphans – 16

gate202

Biggest Disappointment: GATE 2

qc82

Guilty Pleasure: Qualidea Code

I ended up reviewing the fewest shows among my comrades, but Gundam was so good (and so, well, long) that it made up for the lack of shows I was really interested in. I’ll admit to being a bit disappointed in both the last cour of Durarara!! and with Macross Delta in general, which I, perhaps misguidedly, believed would at least be as good as Frontier was.

reli137

sesameacrylic

Favorite Show: ReLIFE

oran35

Best Episode: Orange – 03

www13

Biggest Disappointment: WWW.Working!!

hun111

Guilty Pleasure: Momokuri / Hundred

Both of my GPs offered good bang for the buck; there’s not much to either of them, but I was always excited to watch both; Momokuri to see how much farther the couple would progress that week, and Hundred to see what stupid thing they’d do (or fail to animate) next. WWW.Working!!, on the other hand, I just couldn’t get through.

hai11

MagicalChurlSukui

Favorite Show: Hai to Gensou no Grimgar

rez157

Best Episode: Re:Zero – 15

mayo24

Biggest Disappointment: Mayoiga

sno211

Guilty Pleasure: Sousei no Onmyouji

Well, SnO was my GP until I realized it wasn’t really going anywhere and wasn’t really good enough to keep around once I fell behind due to other obligations. In a way, it replaced Ushio to Tora as my GP, and I really didn’t need two such shows back-to-back. SnO’s 50 episodes proved too many. As for Mayoiga, woof.

boku101

Oigakkosan

Favorite Show: Boku dake ga Inai Machi

rez11

Best Episode: Re:Zero – 01

mp10033

Biggest Disappointment: Mob Psycho 100

hak31

Guilty Pleasure: Haikyuu!! Season 3

If not for the super unpleasant mid-point and throwaway section introducing the battle for the throne, I would gladly have given my top slot to Re:Zero, which was surprisingly unique in a year filled with ‘in another world’ AND ‘time travel mystery’ shows. Regardless, the opening episode flew me high and caught me by surprise with its dark twist and sealed my favorite single seating for the year. ReLife and Flying Witch both deserve honorable mentions too.

