Rewrite – 02

rew21

After reflection, I revised by rating of Rewrite’s first episode to a seven, as I suspect its nearly hour-long running time lulled me into a kind of trance in which it seemed like a better show than it actually was.

rew22

But the first episode was still gobs better than the second, which eliminated most of the fantasy elements and atmosphere I liked for silly antics and discussion of boobs. As such, all my enthusiasm for sticking with Rewrite has evaporated.

rew23

It doesn’t help that the characters are drawn with only the broadest of strokes based on well-worn archtypes that are better executed elsewhere on the Summer spectrum…or that the animation leaves much to be desired.

With 91 Days and Alderamin now on my list, in addition to being the worst of the three current shows whose titles begin with “Re”, Rewrite has been relegated to my recycling bin.

16rating_6

Author: magicalchurlsukui

Preston Yamazuka is a staff writer for RABUJOI.

1 thought on “Rewrite – 02”

  1. I haven’t checked but it feels like we’ve reviewed more shows this season than normal. If that’s true, then maybe the feeling that so many are drainingly generic would feel less weighty? But right now, I feel ‘out of juice’ having dropped so many ‘meh’ qualities shows in the 4-7 score band… maybe there are just more great shows than usual?

Comments are closed.